The Unknown

Being a writer, I tend to over think and analyze everything. I thought that I had to control everything in order to create my own happiness. I was wrong.

I can not control my future. I believe that I can make choices to contibute to certain outcomes, but what happens in the future is not up for me to decide. It’s simply in the hands of the universe. I’m not sure if I believe it fate exactly. Although, I do believe that everything happens for a reason.

I have decided to sit back and let go of needing to be in contol. Everything will work out the way it’s supposed to.

Society has convinced us that life is simply about planning for the next step. There is always something greater, better, more. We spend our lives going to one school after the next preparing ourselves for the “real world”. Although, once you reach the “real world” does the preparation really end? You get a job, then you want a higher position at work, then you want a family, then you want kids, then you want a bigger house, etc. But where is the living? It’s always preparation.

I have decided to live, not to exist. To be content with the now and let my future be unknown.

I don’t know if I will be with him or I will go to that school or I will live in that city. Why worry about that now?

Just be. Accept the unknown.

Leave a Reply

